Roald Dahl

These days I am reading “The Umbrella Man” by Roald Dahl. It is the collection of the short stories of Dahl. When i was young, I used to read lots of his books, such as ‘Charlie and the chocolate factory’, ‘Matilda’, ‘James and the giant peach’, ‘The witches’, ‘Fantastic Mr. Fox’, and so on…  To be honest, I’m not a big fan of reading a book, but i read those books with my sister and my mom. I even watched the movies of ‘Matilda’ and ‘Charlie and the chocolate factory’. However, ‘The Umbrella man’ is different than the other full stories. It’s 9 pages and it has exposition, rising actions, climax, falling actions and the resolutions. In the beginning, the young protagonist and her mom are in London, and all of a sudden the weather gets worse and starts to rain. An old strange man comes to them and sell the umbrella with 20 pounds. Since the girl and her mom were desperate to avoid from the heavy rain, they paid 20 pounds and got the silk umbrella with a good quality. Her mom was suspicious with the man, so they decided to follow after him and spotted him entering the pub. Actually, the man said he needed 20 pound for the taxi fee to go home, instead he goes to the pub and drinks  a glass of whisky. When he exits, he takes the new umbrella of unknown person and goes back to the big street and tries to sell the umbrella again and earn money. He must earn loads of money in a rainy day. However, in my opinion the ending was little bit disappointment, because i expected a bit higher to be interesting or thrilling but it just ended like that. Next time, I want to read other books of him that I have not read. Also, in the future I will definitely my children or kids to read his books!

Leave a Reply

